Champions Cup – Leinster Rugby Cruise To Win Over Stade Francais Paris


The crowd at the Aviva Stadium were treated to seven tries from Leinster Rugby as they cruised to a 43-07 win over Stade Francais Paris.

Wing James Lowe kick-started the scoring in his first game since the World Cup last year. Lowe’s 17th-minute score was the first of three first-half tries from the hosts, with 2022 EPCR Player of the Year Josh van der Flier grabbing the second and hooker Dan Sheehan the third on the stroke of half-time.

Wing Jordan Larmour and Number 8 Caelen Doris both grabbed second-half braces, with Larmour starting off the scoring after just four minutes as he finished off a move which started with a stunning break by centre Garry Ringrose.

A difficult situation for Stade Francais Paris into an even worse one when Doris forced himself over just two minutes later, and he added a second to his personal tally with 20 minutes remaining. Larmour then added a seventh and final try 13 minutes from time.

It was a good day for Sam Prendergast as the young replacement fly-half came on for the second period to kick three of four possible conversions. Ciaran Frawley, who started the game at fly-half, was only able to convert one in the first-half and departed injured - a concern for Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell.

For Stade Francais Paris, there was little consolation – even if Joris Segonds was able to go over with the last play of the game, Zack Henry converting.

Leinster Rugby play Leicester Tigers in Round 4 next weekend, while Stade Francais Paris will hope to produce a better performance at home to DHL Stormers.

Leinster Rugby: Tries: James Lowe, Josh van der Flier, Dan Sheehan, Jordan Larmour (2), Caelan Doris (2). Conversions: Ciaran Frawley, Sam Prendergast (3).
Stade Francais Paris: Try: Joris Segonds. Conversion: Zack Henry.


Leinster Rugby: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Jordan Larmour, 13 Garry Ringrose (captain), 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 James Lowe, 10 Ciaran Frawley, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Ryan Baird, 5 Jason Jenkins, 4 Joe McCarthy, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Dan Sheehan, 1 Andrew Porter. Replacements: 16 Ronan Kelleher, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Michael Ala’alatoa, 19 James Ryan, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Sam Prendergast, 23 Tommy O’Brien.

Stade Francais Paris: 15 Leo Monin, 14 Peniasi Dakuwaqa, 13 Stephane Ahmed, 12 Noah Nene, 11 Kylan Hamdaoui, 10 Zack Henry, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Giovanni Habel-Kuffner, 7 Ryan Chapuis, 6 Mathieu Hirigoyen (captain), 5 JJ van der Mescht, 4 Pierre-Henri Azagoh, 3 Hugo N’Diaye, 2 Lucas Peyresblanques, 1 Clement Castets. Replacements: 16 Mamoudou Meite, 17 Vasil Kakovin, 18 Paul Alo-Emile, 19 Giorgi Tsutskeridze, 20 Andy Timo, 21 Jules Gimbert, 22 Paul Gabrillagues, 23 Joris Segonds.