Champions Cup – Exeter Chiefs Beat Bath Rugby At Windy Sandy Park


A trio of tries took Exeter Chiefs into the quarter-final of the Investec Champions Cup, as they beat Bath Rugby 21-15 in windy conditions at Sandy Park.

In a tightly contested first half, points were at a premium with prop Thomas du Toit opening the scoring for Bath Rugby as the maul drove up to the line.

But the strong wind was such that the attempted conversion from scrum-half Ben Spencer landed ten metres short.

Exeter Chiefs drew level immediately afterwards, as Alfie Barbeary lost the ball and knocked it on to fellow No 8 Ross Vintcent, who accelerated away and crossed the line.

There were no kicking struggles for Henry Slade at the other end, the centre adding the extras.

Bath Rugby reclaimed the lead just before the half-hour, with flanker Ted Hill galloping down the middle of the pitch and touching down underneath the posts, making Spencer's task with the conversion much easier and taking them in 12-7 up at the break.

Spencer added a penalty shortly after the break before replacement Greg Fisilau powered over for the hosts, Slade adding the extras to close the gap to a single point.

Exeter Chiefs then took the lead in the 65th minute as wing Immanuel Feyi-Waboso made a sensational run, evading multiple tackles before offloading, with flanker Ethan Roots ultimately taking the ball over.

Slade's conversion was a thing of beauty, curling exquisitely over despite the continuing blustery conditions, securing a famous win for the home side.

They will now play either Stade Toulousain or Racing 92 in the last eight.

Exeter Chiefs: Tries: Ross Vintcent, Greg Fisilau, Ethan Roots. Conversions: Henry Slade (3).
Bath: Tries: Thomas du Toit, Ted Hill. Conversions: Ben Spencer. Penalty: Ben Spencer.


Exeter Chiefs: 15 Josh Hodge, 14 Immanuel Feyi-Waboso, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Olly Woodburn, 10 Harvey Skinner, 9 Tom Cairns, 8 Ross Vintcent, 7 Christ Tshiunza, 6 Ethan Roots, 5 Dafydd Jenkins (c), 4 Rusi Tuima, 3 Ehren Painter, 2 Jack Yeandle, 1 Scott Sio. Replacements: 16 Jack Innard, 17 Danny Southworth, 18 Marcus Street, 19 Lewis Pearson, 20 Greg Fisilau, 21 Stu Townsend, 22 Will Haydon-Wood, 23 Zack Wimbush.

Bath: 15 Matt Gallagher, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 13 Ollie Lawrence, 12 Cameron Redpath, 11 Will Muir, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ben Spencer (c), 8 Alfie Barbeary, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Ted Hill, 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Quinn Roux, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Tom Dunn, 1 Beno Obano. Replacements: 16 Niall Annett, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Elliott Stooke, 20 Miles Reid, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Orlando Bailey, 23 Jaco Coetzee.