Champions Cup – Coetzee Brace Seals Bath Rugby Win In Try Fest Over Cardiff Rugby


Coetzee struck twice in the space of five minutes to up-end Cardiff Rugby’s lead and hand a 32-39 win to a determined Bath Rugby, who had to dig deep and find a way to get past a hard-working home side.

There were seven tries in an enthralling first half, with Cardiff Rugby scoring three courtesy of a brace from wing Josh Adams and another from his replacement Gabe Hamer-Webb.

Bath Rugby scored four, with wing Joe Cokanasiga, centre Ollie Lawrence, No.8 Alfie Barbeary and hooker Tom Dunn securing a bonus point in the first half.

But fly-half Finn Russell only managed two conversions while his opposite number Tinus de Beer kicked two penalties and two conversions to send the home side in 25-24 up at the break.

The second half picked up where the first half left off, centre Ben Thomas scoring Cardiff’s fourth try with De Beer converting again.

From what had been a free-scoring affair, the game now became a tense and gritty battle with a Russell penalty the sole score until the 65th minute when Coetzee scored the first of his late double.

Russell missed the conversion to leave the teams tied at 32-32 apiece, but the Scotsman kicked the extras after Coetzee reached for the line to dot down his second five minutes later to clinch victory away from home.

Cardiff Rugby will host Harlequins and Racing 92 in January, while Bath Rugby will face the French side at home before a trip to Stade Toulousain.

Cardiff Rugby: Tries: Josh Adams (2), Gabe Hamer-Webb, Ben Thomas. Conversions: Tinus de Beer (3). Penalties: Tinus de Beer (2).
Bath Rugby: Tries: Joe Cokanasiga, Ollie Lawrence, Alfie Barbeary, Tom Dunn, Jaco Coetzee (2). Conversions: Finn Russell (3). Penalty: Finn Russell.

Cardiff Rugby: 15 Cam Winnett, 14 Josh Adams, 13 Rey Lee-Lo, 12 Ben Thomas, 11 Mason Grady, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Tomos Williams, 8 Mackenzie Martin, 7 Lucas de la Rua, 6 Alex Mann, 5 Teddy Williams, 4 Rory Thornton, 3 Keiron Assiratti, 2 Liam Belcher (captain), 1 Corey Domachowski. Replacements: 16 Evan Lloyd, 17 Rhys Carre, 18 Rhys Litterick, 19 Josh Turnbull, 20 Alun Lawrence, 21 Ellis Bevan, 22 Willis Halaholo, 23 Gabriel Hamer-Webb.
Bath Rugby: 15 Tom de Glanville, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 13 Ollie Lawrence, 12 Cameron Redpath, 11 Will Muir, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Alfie Barbeary, 7 Chris Cloete, 6 Miles Reid, 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Josh McNally, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Tom Dunn, 1 Beno Obano. Replacements: 16 Hame Faiva, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Quinn Roux, 20 Elliott Stooke, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Orlando Bailey, 23 Jaco Coetzee.