Challenge Cup – Santiago Carreras Kicks Gloucester Rugby Into Semi-final Against Ospreys


Full-back Santiago Carreras kicked six penalties as he led Gloucester Rugby to a 23-13 win over Ospreys in their EPCR Challenge Cup quarter-final.

Both clubs struggled to get their back-lines flowing, but Carreras kept his cool to kick a vital 18 points.

Gloucester Rugby will now have a home EPCR Challenge Cup semi-final, facing either Benetton Rugby or Connacht Rugby for a place in the final at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium on 24 May.

Both teams crossed once in an evenly-matched first half, Ospreys wing Keelan Giles going over first.

The try was made by full-back Jack Walsh, who had opened up the home club’s defence with a piercing run before laying off to Giles, who finished well.

Gloucester Rugby struck back with an unconverted score from hooker Seb Blake, the pack successfully bundling over following a 5m lineout.

Ospreys fly-half Owen Williams converted Giles’ score and added a penalty, Giles adding another from the tee with the clock in the red, but it was Gloucester Rugby who led at the break thanks to three Carreras penalties.

Carreras continued to keep the scoreboard ticking over in the second period as the Gallagher Premiership club’s pack began to assert dominance.

Ospreys increasingly struggled to hold possession and gain territory, with mistakes allowing Carreras to kick a further three penalties and ultimately fire Gloucester Rugby into a home EPCR Challenge Cup semi-final.

Gloucester: Try: Seb Blake. Penalties: Santiago Carreras.
Ospreys: Try: Keelan Giles. Conversion: Owen Williams. Penalties: Owen Williams, Keelan Giles.


Gloucester: 15 Santi Carreras, 14 Jonny May, 13 Max Llewellyn, 12 Seb Atkinson, 11 Jake Morris, 10 Adam Hastings, 9 Stephen Varney, 8 Zach Mercer, 7 Lewis Ludlow (captain), 6 Ruan Ackermann, 5 Freddie Thomas, 4 Freddie Clarke, 3 Kirill Gotovtsev, 2 Seb Blake, 1 Jamal Ford-Robinson. Replacements: 16 Santi Socino, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Fraser Balmain, 19 Albert Tuisue, 20 Jack Clement, 21 Caolan Engelfield, 22 Charlie Atkinson, 23 Chris Harris.

Ospreys: 15 Jack Walsh, 14 Luke Morgan, 13 Keiran Williams, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Keelan Giles, 10 Owen Williams, 9 Reuben Morgan-Williams, 8 Morgan Morris, 7 Justin Tipuric (captain), 6 Harri Deaves, 5 Adam Beard, 4 James Ratti, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Gareth Thomas. Replacements: 16 Lewis Lloyd, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Rhys Henry, 19 Huw Sutton, 20 Morgan Morse, 21 Luke Davies, 22 Dan Edwards, 23 Max Nagy.