Challenge Cup – Benetton Rugby Beat Emirates Lions To Reach Quarter-final Of EPCR Challenge Cup


Jacob Umaga's superb kicking form continued at Stadio Monigo, as Benetton Rugby beat Emirates Rugby 27-17 to reach the quarter-final of the EPCR Challenge Cup.

The visitors were quick off the mark, with hooker Jaco Visagie opening the scoring in the second minute.

Jordan Hendrikse put on the rest of their points for them, scoring a try, converting two, and adding a penalty.

But Benetton Rugby hit back with tries from prop Thomas Gallo, wing Onisi Ratave and replacement Bautista Bernasconi, all converted by Umaga, who hit 14 of his 15 kicks in the pool stages.

A drop goal from full-back Rhyno Smith and a penalty from replacement Tomas Albornoz rounded off the scoring for Benetton Rugby, and secured them a place in the last eight, where they will play either Section Paloise or Connacht Rugby at home.

Benetton: Tries: Thomas Gallo, Onisi Ratave, Bautista Bernasconi. Conversions: Jacob Umaga (3). Penalty: Tomas Albornoz.
Emirates Lions: Tries: Jaco Visagie, Jordan Hendrikse. Conversions: Jordan Hendrikse (2). Penalty: Jordan Hendrikse.


Benetton: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Tommaso Menoncello, 13 Ignacio Brex, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Onisi Ratave, 10 Jacob Umaga, 9 Alessandro Garbisi, 8 Toa Halafihi, 7 Sebastian Negri, 6 Alessandro Izekor, 5 Eli Snyman (c), 4 Niccolò Cannone, 3 Simone Ferrari, 2 Giacomo Nicotera, 1 Thomas Gallo. Replacements: 16 Bautista Bernasconi, 17 Mirco Spagnolo, 18 Giosué Zilocchi, 19 Federico Ruzza, 20 Henry Time-Stowers, 21 Lorenzo Cannone, 22 Andy Uren, 23 Tomas Albornoz.

Emirates Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Stean Pienaar, 13 Richard Kriel, 12 Zander du Plessis, 11 Rabz Maxwane, 10 Jordan Hendrikse, 9 Morne van den Berg, 8 Hanru Sirgel, 7 Emmanuel Tshituka, 6 JC Pretorius, 5 Darrien Landsberg, 4 Willem Alberts, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2. Jaco Visagie (c), 1 Morgan Naude. Replacements: 16 Morne Brandon, 17 Ruan Dreyer, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Ruan Delport, 20 Izan Esterhuizen, 21 Francke Horn, 22 Nico Steyn, 23 Erich Cronje.