Cell C Sharks Win To Return With Three Wins On Tour

Photo by Jorina Raath/Speedshots.co.za

The Reds hosted the Cell C Sharks at the Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane, Queensland with the Sharks looking for their third win on tour and they achieved just that with a 33-23. Not a brilliant match but the Cell C Sharks' effort in the last quarter proved too much for a willing Reds team.

The first quarter of the match was a very even contest, with the score at the end of the period an even 8-8. The Cell C Sharks may be the better team with the defence of the Reds pin-point.

Both teams found it hard to string together more than a few phases at a time. The discipline, especially from the Sharks, was poor and they conceded nine penalties. The Reds lineout play was where their issues arose. The Reds lead the Sharks 11-8 after a first half that was not pretty to watch. 

The first quarter of the second half came "alive" after the Cell C Sharks scored their second try of the match to take the lead with 15-8. Neither team have sharpened their structure or set plays, but the Sharks took advantage of any scoring opportunities from penalties, which may just be the difference in the end. A "better" third quarter came to an end with the Cell C Sharks in the lead with 21-16. 

An intercept try by the Cell C Sharks gave them a seemingly match-winning lead of 28-16 with nine minutes left on the clock, however, they were not done yet. The Sharks ended the match with another long-distance try lead the match 33-16. A final try by the Reds in the 88th minute the Cell C Sharks and returns home with a win of 33-23 and three wins from four matches after a successful Australasian tour.

Reds: Tries: Henry Speight, Tate McDermott, Ed Craig. Conversion: Jock Campbell. Penalties: Jock Campbell (2).

Cell C Sharks: Tries: Kerron van Vuuren, Dylan Richardson, Lukhanyo Am, Madosh Tambwe. Conversion: Curwin Bosch (2). Penalty: Curwin Bosch (3).

The teams:

Reds: 15 Jock Campbell, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Henry Speight, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Liam Wright (captain), 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Harry Hockings, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Alex Mafi, 1 JP Smith. Replacements: 16 Ed Craig, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Josh Nasser, 19 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 20 Fraser McReight, 21 Scott Malolua, 22 Isaac Lucas, 23 Filipo Daugunu.

Cell C Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Sikumbuzo Notshe, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Le Roux Roets, 20 Phepsi Buthelezi, 21 Sanele Nohamba, 22 Marius Louw, 23 Jeremy Ward.