Cell C Sharks u/21s Name Squad To Travel To Bloemfontein


The Cell C Sharks Under 21s head to Bloemfontein this week for their SA Rugby Under 21 Championship clash against their Free State counterparts looking to make it two-from-two in recent weeks.

The Cell C Sharks Under 21s head into this game off the back of a morale-boosting 17-10 victory over the Lions two weeks ago and back-to-back victories will certainly add huge amounts of confidence to their campaign.

“We felt under pressure in that Lions game as it was a must-win for us if we want to keep our title hopes alive,” explained Head coach Mike Vowles. “With the expectation to perform, I think the most pleasing thing was not just that we won, but the attitude and performance, and massive amounts of character the boys showed.

“We were hugely physical and took the game to the Lions and I was incredibly proud of how they responded.”

Free State are languishing at the bottom of the six-team log, yet to register a victory in the tournament and for a union that has always produced top-class junior talent, they will also be going into this game full of focus.

“We still have life in this competition and two good wins in the next couple of games puts us in third place and into the semi-finals where anything can happen.

“The guys are in a good space and there is a belief that we can operate and compete with the best. We’re looking forward to Friday’s game, it’s another opportunity for us to put in a big performance and build on our systems.

“We’re confident going into this game, but we know the Cheetahs can’t be underestimated in Bloem. We know it’s going to be tough and we’re expecting a difficult challenge, but one we’re looking forward to.

“We’re moving towards where we want to be and the potential in this group is very exciting.”

Cell C Sharks Under 21’s: 15. Hakeem Kunene, 14. Banie Britz, 13. Brandon Wilkie, 12. Ethan Hooker, 11. Lloyd Koster, 10. Jean Smith, 9. Christian Els, 8. Siyambuka Ningiza, 7. Corne Rahl, 6. Damon Royle, 5. Andrew Beyrooti, 4. Le Roux Coetzee, 3. Munashe Mhere, 2. Bryce Calvert, 1. Phathu Ganyane. Replacements: 16. Marnus Winter, 17. Abraham Reyneke, 18. Blaine Golden, 19. Jannes Potgieter, 20. Luca Ribbens, 21. Joshua Miller, 22. Taurin Craze, 23. Liqhayiya Gantsho.