Cell C Sharks u/20s Left It Too Late To Qualify For The SARU u/20 Cup Final


The Cell C Sharks u/20, unfortunately, left it too late in the SARU u/20 Cup competition and their brilliant 28-06 win Potchefstroom was not enough to qualify for the final.

The first half was a close affair and although they outscored their hosts with two tries to none the score at the halftime break was 14-06 with still a lot to play for.

One can be excused for thinking that the second half was a one-sided affair as the Leopards u/20s could not add any points to their score in the second half, however, the Sharks u/20s had to work extremely hard to score their two tries in the second half.

Early losses in the season against Western Province u/20 (17-20) and the Vodacom Bulls (40-45) cost them a place in the final.

Leopards u/20: Penalties: Christiaan Gates (2)
Cell C Sharks u/20: Tries: Andrew Beyrooti, Damian Royle, Nick Hatton, Brandon Wilkie. Conversions: Bradley Davids (4).

Leopards u/20: 15. Pikes Alexander, 14. Farai Sibanda, 13. Christiaan Vlok, 12.Conrad Schlechter, 11. S Ntleki, 10. Christiaan Gates, 9. Marquin Uren, 8. Damian Oosthuizen, 7. Vleis Adshade, 6. Quin van Zyl, 5. Casper Steenkamp, 4. Tian van Zyl, 3. Stephan van Graan, 2. Brandon Beukes, 1. Daniel Theron. Replacements: 16. Angus Appollis, 17. Mohamed Diop, 18. Burns Arendse, 19. Stephan Krugel, 20.Tshimo Mogale, 21. Ronsley Sauls, 22. Luwan Smit, 23. Conrad van Vuuren.

Cell C Sharks u/20: 15. Hakeem Kunene, 14. Beanie Britz, 13. Brandon Wilkie, 12. Ethan Hooker, 11. Siviwe Zondani, 10. Bradley Davids, 9. Josh Miller, 8. Nick Hatton, 7. Enos Ndiao, 6. Damon Royle, 5. Corne Rahl (c), 4. Andrew Beyrooti, 3. Nash Mhere, 2. Marnus Winter,1. Phatu Ganyane. Replacements: 16. Jacques Marais, 17. Braam Reyneke, 18. Dian Heunis, 19. Coetzee Le Roux, 20. Luca Ribbens, 21. Loyd Koster, 22. Ryan Manuel, 23. Matthew Jacobs.