Cell C Sharks Too Good For Windhoek Draught Griquas In Wet


The Cell C Sharks secured a 24-06 win against Windhoek Draught Griquas in a Round 8 Currie Cup match in Durban on Saturday, which was played in extremely wet conditions.

Windhoek Draught Griquas opened the scoring when Eddie Fouche converted a penalty kick after five minutes of play in the first half.

The Cell C Sharks hit back eight minutes later with a converted try to lead 07-03. An overthrow in a Cell C Sharks' lineout was booted forward, with Alwayno Visagie scoring in the corner for the hosts.

Eddie Fouche converted a second penalty for the visitors after a penalty from the kick-off.

With sevens minutes still to play Kerron van Vuuren scored the Cell C Sharks' second try from the back of a lineout-maul to stretch their lead to 14-06, which was also the halftime score.

The Cell C Sharks added a converted penalty after 5 minutes of play in the second half. This was followed by great attacking play by the hosts for ten minutes before, Bradley Davids took a great inside pass to score the Cell C Sharks' third try to lead 24-06, which was also the final score.

Both the Cell C Sharks and Windhoek Draught Griquas were on 19 points before the match. The win moves the Cell C Sharks to 23 points, remaining in third place on the 2023 Currie Cup Premier Division.

Cell C Sharks: Tries: Alwayno Visagie, Kerron Van Vuuren, Bradley Davids. Conversions: Lionel Cronje (3). Penalty: Lionel Cronje.
Windhoek Draught Griquas: Penalties: Eddie Fouche (2).


Cell C Sharks: 15 Thaakir Abrahams, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Joshua Jonas, 12 Alwayno Visagie, 11 Marnus Potgieter, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Bradley Davids, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Tinotenda Mavesere, 5 Reniel Hugo (c), 4 Ockie Barnard, 3 Khutha Mchunu, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Khwezi Mona. Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Dian Bleuler, 18 Hanro Jacobs, 19 Marco de Witt, 20 Damon Royle, 21 Tiaan Fourie, 22 Fred Zeilinga, 23 Murray Koster.

Windhoek Draught Griquas:15 Jay-Cee Nel, 14 Sako Makato, 13 Sango Xamlashe, 12 Tertius Kruger, 11 Luther Obi, 10 Eddie Fouche, 9 Johan Mulder, 8 Carl Els, 7 Harnu Sirgel (c), 6 Stephan Smit, 5 Albert Liebenberg, 4 Johan Retief, 3 Janu Botha, 2 Janco Uys, 1 Cebo Dlamini. Replacements: 16 Sean Swart, 17 Eddie Davids, 18 Junior Banda, 19 Dylan Sjoblom, 20 Niel Otto, 21 Reagan Orange, 22 George Whitehead, 23 Ashlon Davids.