Cell C Sharks Name Team To Travel To Johannesburg


The Cell C Sharks’ Carling Currie Cup campaign shifts to Johannesburg when they take on the Sigma Lions at Emirates Airline Park on Saturday following a two week break.

After two wins and in particular a really commanding victory over the DHL Western Province a fortnight back, the team is building a good head of steam at this early stage of the competition and will hope to continue the momentum this week.

For head coach Etienne Fynn, the recipe for success is fairly simple.

“As always, you’re looking for improvement in the areas that you lacked a little in the previous game and building on those areas where you were strong,” he explains.

“It’s like a trifle, if you put too many ingredients in it, it becomes a mess, so for us it’s about keeping it as simple as possible and getting better and better in the execution of what you know works.”

The Lions lost 48-36 to DHL Western Province in the opening round before suffering a 50-9 defeat to the Airlink Pumas in their second match and with just one log point, prop up the Currie Cup table in seventh position.

Their team has been bolstered by URC players and they will not want to slip up a for a third consecutive game and face the prospect of playing catch-up over the remainder of the tournament.

Likewise, the Cell C Sharks will look to continue the momentum they have been building and this means executing and executing well.

The opportunities afforded to eighthman Sikhumbuzo Notshe, flyhalf Curwin Bosch and centre Marius Louw at URC level has opened the door for the likes of Thembelani Bholi and Murray Koster to get starts this weekend.

The opportunities for players to move up to the URC squad also has a positive knock-on effect for promising youngsters to get a chance at Currie Cup level, with young Bradley Davids, the 2021 SA Under 20 player, getting a call-up into the senior ranks.

Cell C Sharks: 1. Khwezi Mona, 2. Fez Mbatha, 3. Khutha Mchunu, 4. Le Roux Roets, 5. Reniel Hugo, 6. James Venter (C), 7. Thembelani Bholi, 8. Celimpilo Gumede, 9. Cameron Wright, 10. Boeta Chamberlain, 11. Marnus Potgieter, 12. Murray Koster, 13. Jeremy Ward (v/c), 14. Werner Kok, 15. Yaw Penxe. Replacements: 16. Dan Jooste, 17. Dian Bleuler, 18. Wiehahn Herbst, 19. Emile van Heerden, 20. OJ Noa, 21. Sanele Nohamba, 22. Inny Radebe, 23. Bradley Davids.