Cell C Sharks Name Team To Host DHL Stormers


The Cell C Sharks are back at Hollywoodbets Kings Park on Saturday at 14:00 (SA Time) when they host the DHL Stormers in what should be another intense Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash between two old rivals.

The coastal derby, featuring the two South African teams looks to offer every bit of drama we’ve come to expect when these two teams meet.

Springbok resting protocols, to manage the country’s top players in this Rugby World Cup year, have necessitated a number of changes in recent weeks, including Saturday’s match.

Cell C Sharks Director of Rugby Neil Powell has made two changes to the front row, Ntuthuko Mchunu replacing Ox Nche and Carlü Sadie coming in for Thomas du Toit with the rest of the pack that served the team so well last week remaining in place.

Cameron Wright gets a start at scrumhalf for the injured Grant Williams while Rohan Janse van Rensburg is back in the side, playing at centre with Ben Tapuai shifting to outside centre in place of Francois Venter.

Cell C Sharks fullback Aphelele Fassi and Man of the Match in last week’s defeat of Edinburgh said that his team is in a good space ahead of this big home match.

“We’ve taken a lot of energy out of that game,” he admitted. “There was massive character shown by the boys and we’re very proud of that. I could see on the training pitch this week that there’s a lot of belief and energy in the group. From a defensive point of view, that win was a positive from us and it’s something we want to continue to grow.”

Of the Stormers, he acknowledged the huge challenge that lies ahead against the defending champs.
“Coastal derbies are always special, we know the style of play they want to play, we know the threats they bring in terms of the breakdown, the set-piece and going forward in terms of our plan is to just match that and take the opportunities we’ve identified. And being clinical in converting those into points.”

Cell C Sharks

  1. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  2. Kerron van Vuuren
  3. Carlü Sadie
  4. Hyron Andrews
  5. Gerbrandt Grobler
  6. James Venter
  7. Henco Venter
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi (c)
  9. Cameron Wright
  10. Curwin Bosch
  11. Thaakir Abrahams
  12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg
  13. Ben Tapuai
  14. Marnus Potgieter
  15. Aphelele Fassi


  1. Dan Jooste
  2. Dian Bleuler
  3. Hanro Jacobs
  4. Reniel Hugo
  5. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
  6. Bradley Davids
  7. Lionel Cronje
  8. Yaw Penxe