Cell C Sharks Name Line-up For New Year’s Eve’s Battle With Vodacom Bulls


The Cell C Sharks see out the 2022 year with a New Year’s Eve derby against the Vodacom Bulls at Hollywoodbets Kings Park in what should be a tense and exciting Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash, kick-off at 16h45 (SA Time).

Both teams have enjoyed a good run of form of late, although the Bulls came up short against the DHL Stormers in last weekend’s round of local derbies which saw them drop from second to fourth spot on the URC log.

Still, that loss aside, the Bulls continue to offer a real test against every opponent they face, including the Cell C Sharks.

The Durban side is enjoying a rich vein of form, having won their last four games across the URC and the Heineken Champions Cup and will go into this game with plenty of momentum and confidence, knowing they have the team and the ability to deliver performances that produce the results.

Following last week’s emphatic 37-10 victory over the Emirates Lions, the Cell C Sharks team named by Director of Rugby Neil Powell sees the return of some of the team’s big names.

Managing the heavy workload of his Springboks has been a delicate balancing act, but this week they are back in action, testament to the threat posed by the visiting Bulls.

Changes from last week’s side see Ox Nche and Bongi Mbonambi back to partner Thomas du Toit in an all-Springbok front row, while Eben Etzebeth and Siya Kolisi return to start the game, with Kolisi leading the side into battle.

Henco Venter and Sikhumbuzo Notshe complete the back row.

Marnus Potgieter is in for the injured Werner Kok, this being the only change to last week’s backline as Powell looks to maintain continuity amongst the backs.

Cell C Sharks: 1. Ox Nche, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 3. Thomas du Toit, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 5. Gerbrandt Grobler, 6. Siya Kolisi (c), 7. Henco Venter, 8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 9. Grant Williams, 10. Curwin Bosch, 11. Makazole Mapimpi, 12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 13. Lukhanyo Am, 14. Marnus Potgieter, 15. Boeta Chamberlain. Replacements: 16. Kerron van Vuuren, 17. Dian Bleuler, 18. Carlu Sadie, 19. Hyron Andrews, 20. Phepsi Buthelezi, 21. Jaden Hendrikse, 22. Lionel Cronje, 23. Yaw Penxe.