Cell C Sharks Move To Top Of The Log

Photo Credit: Cell C Sharks Facebook

The Cell C Sharks hosted the Phakisa Pumas for the first game of the Carling Currie Cup in Durban at 19h00 tonight. The Sharks moved to the top of the log after a dominant bonus-point win of 45-10.

The Pumas arrived in Durban without eleven of their first-choice players having lost four players after they announced their side on Thursday morning.

The Sharks dominated from the first whistle but playing conditions resulted in elementary unforced errors early in the first half. 

The Sharks domination were clear with a seven-try to one victory although four tries by the Sharks was due to mistakes by the Pumas.

05:40 Jeremy Ward score a try after the Pumas allowed a ball to bounce after an up-and-under by Bosch. (7-0)

17:30 Sanele Nohamba scored the Sharks second try after the Sharks spent several minutes camped in the Pumas 22. (14-0)

With 20 minutes gone in the first half, the Pumas' desperate defence was the only reason that the Sharks lead with only 14-0.

23:20 Jeremy Ward scored his second try from yet another mistake by the Pumas in their red zone. (19-0)

28:13 Ginter Smuts scored the Pumas first points of the match after a period of good play by the Pumas forced the Sharks into several errors in their half. (19-3)

31:35 Kerron van Vuuren scored the Sharks fourth try after a maul from a line-out seven metres form the Pumas try-line. (24-3)

38:30 Dylan Richardson scored the Sharks fifth try after another maul from a line-out. (31-3)

At the end of the first half, the Sharks dominated all facets with tries being scored at regular intervals. The Sharks have come out of the blocks firing and surged to a 5-try lead. The Sharks' relentless kick-and-chase tactics & a swarming rush defence have paid dividends so far!

50:00 The Pumas started a lot better in the second half with Phumzile Maqondwana who scored the Pumas first try. (31-10)

51:50 Sbu Nkosi scored the Sharks sixth try from the kick-off after he mastered the ball from the air to score his first try of the match.

The Pumas got their hand on more quality ball in the second half which eventually lead to a yellow card to the Sharks. Unfortunately, several deliberate mistakes by the referee, Rasta Rashivenga gave the Sharks an unfair advantage in a game they did not need it.

70:05 Sbu Nkosi scored a long-distance try after an intercept in his own half. (45-10)

The last ten minutes of the game did not produce any more points although the Pumas again only woke in the second half.

Sharks: Tries: Jeremy Ward (2), Sanele Nohamba, Kerron van Vuuren, Dylan Richardson, Sbu Nkosi (2). Conversions: Curwin Bosch (5).
Pumas: Try: Phumzile Maqondwana. Conversion: Ginter Smuts. Penalty: Ginter Smuts

Cell C Sharks: 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Jeremy Ward (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Madosh Tambwe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Thembelani Bholi, 7 JJ van der Mescht, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Daniel Jooste, 17 Khwezi Mona, 18 Hanro Jacobs, 19 Zain Davids, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Werner Kok, 23 Sbu Nkosi.

Phakisa Pumas: 15 Tapiwa Mafura, 14 Morne Joubert, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Ali Mgijima, 11 Etienne Taljaard, 10 Devon William, 9 Ginter Smuts, 8 Willem Engelbrecht, 7 Phumzile Maqondwana, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Darrien Landsberg, 4. Brendon Snyman 3 Ruan Kramer, 2 HP van Schoor, 1 Liam Hendricks. Replacements: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Wikus Groenewald, 18 Brandon Valentyn, 19 Heath Backhouse, 20 Chriswill September, 21 Wayne van der Bank, 22 Theo Boshoff, 23 Dewald Maritz.