Cell C Sharks Make Minimal Changes To Line-up To Face Bordeaux Bègles


The Cell C Sharks team to meet Bordeaux Bègles for Friday evening’s Heineken Champions Cup clash at Stade Chaban-Delmas shows minimal changes to the side that defeated Harlequins at Hollywoodbets Kings Park last Saturday.

The Cell C Sharks’ mettle will once again be tested as they face up to their Top 14 participants in their second-round match in icy cold Bordeaux.

Cell C Sharks Director of Rugby Neil Powell has largely stuck with the same team that defeated Harlequins 39-31, although there is the welcome return of a very familiar face, Lukhanyo Am, who plays off the bench.

Am has completed his return to play and his presence later in the game will no doubt underline why he was nominated for the prestigious 2022 World Rugby Men’s Player of the Year award.

Also back in the side is Thomas du Toit following his suspension and he replaces Carlu Sadie in the front row, with Ntuthuko Mchunu in for Ox Nche the only other change to the starting line-up.

A loss for Bordeaux in the first round away to Gloucester means little in the scheme of French rugby. They’re now playing at Stade Chaban-Delmas where home games are almost a religion and losing in front of their fan base is almost non-existent.

While the Cell C Sharks were full value for their win last week and deserved victors to say the least, they won’t have it easy against the team in the ninth spot on the Top 14 log.

The Cell C Sharks will be well aware of the need to build pressure, hold on to the ball and turn possession into points in their quest for a second successive win in this prestigious competition.

Cell C Sharks: 1. Ntuthuko Mchunu, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 3. Thomas du Toit, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 5. Gerbrandt Grobler, 6. Siya Kolisi (c), 7. Vincent Tshituka, 8. Phepsi Buthelezi, 9. Jaden Hendrikse, 10. Curwin Bosch, 11. Makazole Mapimpi, 12. Ben Tapuai 13. Francois Venter, 14. Werner Kok, 15. Boeta Chamberlain. Replacements: 16. Dan Jooste, 17. Dian Bleuler, 18. Hanro Jacobs, 19. Hyron Andrews, 20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21. Grant Williams, 22. Lionel Cronje, 23. Lukhanyo Am.