Cell C Sharks Made A Number Of Changes For Trip To Bloemfontein


The Cell C Sharks have a tough Carling Currie Cup assignment this weekend when they travel to Bloemfontein to take on the Toyota Free State.

With three rounds of the tournament remaining – including this week’s action – five sides remain in contention for the play-offs, with the Cell C Sharks currently lying in third place on the log, but knowing there can be no slip-ups with the Windhoek Lager Griquas three points behind in fourth place and the Airlink Pumas, with a game in hand, a further two points adrift in fifth place.

Bouncing back from last week’s loss to the Pumas at Hollywoodbets Kings Park will be the primary focus for the Cell C Sharks, although they will know they have their work cut out for them.

The men from Bloem have been in imperious form this season, focusing all their rugby attentions on the Currie Cup. They have not yet tasted defeat in this year’s competition and with a game in hand over the log leading Vodacom Bulls, will be going all out to secure top spot and home ground advantage in the knock-outs.

Cell C Sharks Currie Cup head coach Etienne Fynn has made a number of changes to last week’s side, naming a new front row of Khwezi Mona, Fez Mbatha and Lourens Adriaanse for Dian Bleuler, Kerron van Vuuren and Wiehahn Herbst. In the second row, Emile van Heerden replaces Ruben van Heerden while Dylan Richardson takes over from James Venter and Mpilo Gumede comes in for Sikhumbuzo Notshe.

There is just one change to the backline, where Murray Koster replaces Ethan Fisher at the centre.

Cell C Sharks: 1. Khwezi Mona, 2. Fez Mbatha, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 4. Emile van Heerden, 5. Hyron Andrews, 6. Dylan Richardson, 7. Thembelani Bholi, 8. Mpilo Gumede, 9. Cameron Wright, 10. Boeta Chamberlain, 11. Anthony Volmink, 12. Murray Koster, 13. Jeremy Ward (c), 14. Marnus Potgieter, 15. Nevaldo Fleurs. Replacements: 16. Dan Jooste, 17. Dian Bleuler, 18. Blaine Golden, 19. Le Roux Roets, 20. Nick Hatton, 21. Mthokozisi Mkhabela, 22. Tito Bonilla, 23. Ethan Fisher.