Cell C Sharks Loses Swimming Gala In Durban


The Cell C Sharks hosted Edinburgh at Hollywoodbets Kings Park in a clash that had an important bearing on the fight for log positions. Edinburgh scored an impressive win (21-05) in the wet conditions outplaying the Sharks in the second half.

The game was played in extremely wet conditions which made constructive play in the first 40 minutes almost impossible, explaining the visitors' lead of 7-0 at the halftime break

12:50 Marius Louw (Sharks) was sent off with a yellow card.

20:00 Blair Kinghorn scored Edinburgh's first try after questionable defence allowed him to score a relatively easy try. (00-07)

20:00 In extremely wet conditions both teams were happy to kick in hope that the other side makes a mistake. The Sharks were 4 men at that stage which made the defence vulnerable.

40:00 In the second quarter of the match the Sharks' forwards started to dominate, however, the conditions kept both sides from creating scoring opportunities.

50:13 Thomas du Toit scored the Sharks' first try after a period of pressure from the Sharks on Edinburgh's tryline. (05-07)

55:23 Emiliano Boffelli scored Edinburgh's second try following poor defence by the home team. (05-14)

60:00 Edinburgh started to take control of the game as the second half continued, while the Sharks' defence is becoming a bit suspect.

69:04 Blair Kinghorn scored Edinburgh's third try after the Sharks could not control a grubber. Kinghorn dribbled the ball like a seasoned soccer player into the in-goal area of their hosts.

Cell C Sharks: Try: Thomas du Toit. 
Edinburgh: Tries: Blair Kinghorn (2), Emiliano Boffelli. Conversions: Emiliano Boffelli (3).

Cell C Sharks: 15. Anthony Volmink, 14. Werner Kok, 13. Ben Tapuai, 12. Marius Louw, 11. Makazole Mapimpi, 10. Curwin Bosch, 9. Grant Williams, 8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7. Henco Venter, 6. Siya Kolisi (c), 5. Reniel Hugo, 4. Gerbrandt Grobler, 3. Thomas du Toit, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 1. Ox Nche. Replacements: 16. Kerron van Vuuren, 17. Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18. Khuta Mchunu, 19. Le Roux Roets, 20. Phepsi Buthelezi, 21. James Venter, 22. Jaden Hendrikse, 23. Boeta Chamberlain.

Edinburgh: 15. Emiliano Boffelli, 14. Ramiro Moyano, 13. Mark Bennett (c), 12. James Lang, 11. Freddie Owsley, 10. Blair Kinghorn, 9. Ben Vellacott, 8. Ben Muncaster, 7. Hamish Watson, 6. Magnus Bradbury, 5. Jamie Hodgson, 4. Pierce Phillips, 3. Lee-Roy Atalifo, 2. Dave Cherry, 1. Boan Venter. Replacements: 16. Adam McBurney, 17. Harrison Courtney, 18. Luan de Bruin, 19. Glen Young, 20. Connor Boyle, 21. Charlie Shiel, 22. Jaco van der Walt, 23. Chris Dean.