Cell C Sharks Cruise To An Easy Win Against Union Bordeaux-Bègles


Cell C Sharks recorded their third successive win in their debut Heineken Champions Cup campaign when they cruised to an easy 32-03 win over Union Bordeaux-Bègles.

During the first 20 minutes of the match, the Cell C Sharks dominated most of the action and deservedly le 08-00.

Two yellow cards to Union Bordeaux-Bègles did not help them as the Cell C Sharks were clinical in their attacks as they scored two more tries during the second quarter. The Cell C Sharks led 22-00 at the halftime break.

The Cell C Sharks are in complete control of the match although Union Bordeaux-Bègles started to claw their way back into the match. Union Bordeaux-Bègles converted a penalty to trial 03-22 with 20 minutes to play.

Not much constructive rugby was played in the final quarter, however, the Cell C Sharks coasted to an easy 32-03 win.

Cell C Sharks: Tries: Jordan Hendrikse (2), Gerbrandt Grobler, Marnus Potgieter (2). Conversions: Lionel Cronje (2). Penalty: Lionel Cronje.
Union Bordeaux-Bègles: Penalty: . Maxime Lucu.

How it happened:

06:04 Henry Chamberlain converted a penalty for the Cell C Sharks. (03-00)
11:05 Jordan Hendrikse take a quick free kick to dart over the tryline of the visitors for the Cell C Sharks' first try of the match. (08-00)
22:48 Jordan Hendrikse sniped next to a maul on the tryline of Union Bordeaux-Bègles to score the Cell C Sharks' second try: (15-00)
29:32 Christopher Vaotoa (Union Bordeaux-Bègles) was shown a yellow card.
31:04 Gerbrandt Grobler scored the Cell C Sharks third try. He picked the ball up behind the loose scrum of the Cell C Sharks to force his way over the tryline. (22-00)
31:04 Clement Maynadier (Union Bordeaux-Bègles) was sent off with a yellow card.
43:08 Maxime Lucu converted a penalty for Union Bordeaux-Bègles. (22-03)
58:36 Marnus Potgieter scored the Cell C Sharks bonuspoint try. The brilliant interplay between the Cell C Sharks forwards and backs (27-03)
61:24 Marnus Potgieter scored his second try of the match after a movement that originated in the Cell C Sharks' own half. Once again brilliant interplay and handling by the Cell C Sharks. (32-03)


Cell C Sharks: 15. Henry Chamberlain, 14. Marnus Potgieter, 13. Lukhanyo Am, 12. Ben Tapuai, 11. Makazole Mapimpi, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Jaden Hendrikse, 8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7. Vincent Tshituka, 6. Siya Kolisi (c), 5. Gerbrandt Grobler, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Thomas du Toit, 2. Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1. Ox Nche. Replacements: 16. Kerron van Vuuren, 17. Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18. Carlü Sadie, 19. Hyron Andrews, 20. Phendulani Buthelezi, 21. Cameron Wright, 22. Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 23. Aphelele Fassi.

Bordeaux-Begles: 15. Nans Ducuing, 14. Geoffrey Cros, 13. Tani Vili, 12. Yoram Falatea-Moefana, 11. Madosh Tambwe, 10. Matéo Garcia, 9. Maxime Lucu (c), 8. Caleb Timu, 7. Corentin Coularis, 6. Renato Giammarioli, 5. Alban Roussel, 4. Thomas Jolmes, 3. Vadim Cobilas, 2. Clement Maynadier, 1. Christopher Vaotoa. Replacements: 16. Connor Sa, 17. Ugo Boniface, 18. Sipili Falatea, 19. Jandré Marais, 20. Bastien Vergnes-Taillefer, 21. Jules Gimbert, 22. Zack Holmes, 23. Pablo Uberti.