Cell C Sharks Change Five For Harlequins


The Cell C Sharks team to take on Harlequins this weekend in their final pool match of the Heineken Champions Cup shows five changes from the side that defeated Bordeaux at Hollywoodbets Kings Park last weekend.

There is still a strong element of continuity about this side that has performed so admirably in their first appearance in the competition, but they will know that Quins will approach this game with a do-or-die attitude, knowing that back-to-back losses to the Cell C Sharks could potentially knock them out of the running.

Director of Rugby Neil Powell has had his hand forced as far as injuries go, with Bongi Mbonambi and Boeta Chamberlain, both leaving the field last week after taking knocks and neither available for this weekend.

In their place come Kerron van Vuuren and Aphelele Fassi who is now fully over his injury. Powell’s rotational policy sees Phepsi Buthelezi and Sikhumbuzo Notshe swap eighthman jerseys, while Curwin Bosch is back for Lionel Cronje after the flyhalf was a late withdrawal from the Bordeaux game after pulling up short during the week and not healing in time.

The final change sees Thaakir Abrahams in for Makazole Mapimpi after the latter was ruled out of the next two games due to suspension.

Harlequins came from behind in the first round match at Hollywoodbets Kings Park in December to threaten what would have been a rare away win in the tournament, but were denied by a character-driven effort from the Cell C Sharks who now look to upset the applecart in London.

Although the Cell C Sharks have already qualified for the round of 16 courtesy of their three straight victories, a win will guarantee a home clash in the next round and will undoubtedly develop the team’s momentum even further than it already is.

Cell C Sharks

  1. Ox Nche
  2. Kerron van Vuuren
  3. Thomas du Toit
  4. Eben Etzebeth
  5. Gerbrandt Grobler
  6. Siya Kolisi (c)
  7. Vincent Tshituka
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi
  9. Jaden Hendrikse
  10. Curwin Bosch
  11. Thaakir Abrahams
  12. Ben Tapuai
  13. Lukhanyo Am
  14. Marnus Potgieter
  15. Aphelele Fassi


  1. Dan Jooste
  2. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  3. Carlü Sadie
  4. Hyron Andrews
  5. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
  6. Grant Williams
  7. Lionel Cronje
  8. Francois Venter