Castres Olympique Smash Scarlets RFC


Castres Olympique beat Scarlets RFC 34-16 in the opening round of the 20023/24 EPCR Rugby Challenge at Stade Pierre-Fabre on Saturday night.

Castres Olympique was the main force of the first half, with Scarlets suffering two sin bins. The first came almost as soon as the match started, wing Steff Evans at fault, with the second coming in the 31st minute with scrum-half Kieran Hardy punished.

It meant Castres were able to rack up four tries via wing Josaia Raisuqe, fly-half Louis le Brun, scrum-half Jeremy Fernandez and Number 8 Abraham Papalii, with Le Brun only able to convert one.

All of Scarlets' points came from the boot of Ioan Lloyd, who did his best to keep his side in it with three penalties.

The second period didn’t start well for the Welsh region either, with Dumora going over for a converted score.

There was some hope when Lloyd struck to score Scarlets’ first try, which he converted himself, but Castres reinforced their lead when Le Brun kicked a penalty.

The fly-half then added even more to the scoreboard with his second converted try, finishing off a wonderful series of offloads with a well-timed, arching run.

However, in the closing stages, both he and Antoine Bouzerand saw yellow as the match ended on a sour note.

Castres Olympique: Tries: Josaia Raisuqe, Jeremy Fernandez, Abraham Papalii, Julien Dumora, Louis le Brun. Conversions: Louis le Brun (3). Penalty: Louis le Brun.
Scarlets RFC: Try: Ioan Lloyd. Conversion: Ioan Lloyd. Penalties: Ioan Lloyd (3).


Castres Olympique: 15 Julien Dumora, 14 Josaia Raisuqe, 13 Adrien Seguret, 12 Vilimoni Botitu, 11 Antoine Bouzerand, 10 Louis le Brun, 9 Jeremy Fernandez, 8 Abraham Papalii, 7 Baptiste Cope, 6 Romain Macurdy, 5 Tom Staniforth, 4 Florent Vanverberghe, 3 Aurelien Azar, 2 Gaetan Barlot, 1 Wayan de Benedittis. Replacements: 16 Pierre Colonna, 17 Antoine Tichit, 18 Levan Chilachava, 19 Leone Nakarawa, 20 Yann Peysson, 21 Gauthier Doubrere, 22 Pierre Popelin, 23 Theo Chabouni.

Scarlets RFC: 15 Tom Rogers, 14 Steff Evans, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Johnny Williams, 11 Ryan Conbeer, 10 Ioan Lloyd, 9 Kieran Hardy, 8 Carwyn Tuipulotu, 7 Teddy Leatherbarrow, 6 Ben Williams, 5 Jac Price, 4 Morgan Jones, 3 Joe Jones, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Steff Thomas. Replacements: 16 Shaun Evans, 17 Sam O’Connor, 18 Harri O’Connor, 19 Ed Scragg, 20 Iwan Shenton, 21 Archie Hughes, 22 Charlie Titcombe, 23 Ioan Nicholas.