Carling Currie Cup Premier Division – Vodacom Bulls King In Wet Windy Conditions Against DHL Western Province


The Vodacom Bulls travelled to Cape Town on Sunday to face DHL Western Province in Round One of the Carling Currie Cup Premier Division and returned home with four log points earned from a comprehensive 30-25 win over Western Province.

The match was played in extremely wet and windy conditions with the visitors adapting to the circumstances better than their hosts.

The Bulls used their dominant forwards to control the game with a disciplined display and led 13-05 at the halftime break, however, the scoreboard did not reflect the Bulls' dominance on the field of play at that stage.

Apart from an early try and converted penalty by Western Province, the Bulls continued their dominance to secure a 30-13 lead with five minutes to play. Two late tries by Western Province earned them two bonus points with the scoreboard not reflecting the Bulls' dominance.

DHL Western Province: Tries: Jean-Luc Du Plessis, Gary Porter, Angelo Davids, Wandisile Simelane. Conversion: Jean-Luc Du Plessis. Penalty: Angelo Davids.
Vodacom Bulls: Tries: Joe Van Zyl, Devon Williams, Mpiloh Gumede. Conversions: Jaco van der Walt, Chris Smith (2). Penalties: Jaco Van Der Walt (3).


DHL Western Province: 15 Luke Burger, 14 Courtnall Skosan, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Jurie Matthee, 9 Imad Khan, 8 Willie Engelbrecht (c), 7 Connor Evans, 6 CJ Velleman, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Sazi Sandi, 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Lizo Gqoboka. Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Vernon Matongo, 18 Corne Weilbach, 19 Hendre Stassen, 20 Paul de Villiers, 21 Louw Nel, 22 Labib Kannemeyer, 23 Damian Markus.

Vodacom Bulls: 15 Boeta Chamberlain, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 12 Chris Barend Smit, 11 Devon Williams, 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Bernard van der Linde, 8 Nizaam Carr (c), 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Corné Beets, 5 Sintu Manjezi, 4 Cobus Wiese, 3 Francois Klopper, 2 Jope van Zyl, 1 Dylan Smith. Replacements: 16 Juann Else, 17 Alulutho Tshakweni, 18 Khutha Mchunu, 19 Merwe Olivier, 20 Celimpilo Gumede, 21 Zak Burger, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Cornal Hendricks.