Carling Currie Cup Premier Division – Toyota Cheetahs Name Team To Host NovaVit Griffons


On Saturday, the Toyota Cheetahs are kicking off their Carling Currie Cup campaign against the NovaVit Griffons in a Free State derby at the Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein starting at 13:55 (SA Time).

“It’s good being back now (from Ospreys), even though I learned a couple of things. I think now that I’m here, the main focus is here, and my main focus is on winning the Currie Cup.” Said captian Victor Sekekete.

“ The Griffons worked on their game, credit to them, but that means it’s game on now. The target is on our back, but that also means we are going to attack. We just not only going to defend and take the shots, we are also going to go out to play rugby.”

“Currie Cup remains the most important competition in South Africa. I think it’s also a base for many players throughout the years. I think as players, we embrace it , and we always look forward to it because it’s an exceptional competition.”

“We’ve got to get back on the horse. Although we didn’t have a good SA Cup, we gave players chances, but now we are back and have a settled side, said Izak van der Westhuizen, head coach of the Toyota Cheetahs.

The following players were not eligible for team selection due to injury:

Daniel Maartens (hip), Reagan Oranje (knee), Siba Xamlashe (bone fracture), Reinhardt Fortuin (back), Hencus van Wyk (neck), Ruben de Haas (hamstring), Laurence Victor (calf), Carl Wegner (hip), Andisa Ntsila (ankle), Thabang Mahlasi (foot), James Verity-Amm (knee), Michael Annies (knee), Friedle Oliver (ankle), Louis van der Westhuizen (knee) and Evardi Boshoff (hamstring).

Coach Izak van der Westhuizen announced his team with 8 players* making their Currie Cup debut for the Toyota Cheetahs.

Toyota Cheetahs:

15. Litha Nkula*
14. Sbu Nkosi
13. Munier Hartzenberg
12. Ali Mgijima
11. Daniel Kasende
10. Ethan Wentzel*
9. Rewan Kruger
8. Jeandre Rudolph
7. Aidon Davis
6. Gideon van der Merwe
5. Victor Sekekete (C)
4. Mzwanele Zito
3. Aranos Coetzee
2. Marko Janse van Rensburg
1. Schalk Ferreira.


16. Vernon Paulo*
17. Cameron Dawson
18. Robert Hunt*
19. Pierre Uys*
20. Neels Volschenk*
21. Jandré Nel*
22. Marco Jansen van Vuren*
23. George Lourens