Carling Currie Cup Premier Division – Toyota Cheetahs Demolish NovaVit Griffons


The Current Currie Cup Champions, the Toyota Cheetahs, hosted the NovaVit Griffons in Bloemfontein and ran riot, beating their visitors 80-20 in Round One of the Carling Currie Cup Premier Division.

The Griffons were still in the game after twenty-nine minutes of the first half when they trialed 14-13. However, three minutes the Cheetahs' try-fest started with the hosts scoring tries almost at will. The Cheetahs led 28-13 at the halftime break. Seven tries followed in the second half to secure the 80-20 win.

Toyota Cheetahs: Tries: S'bu Nkosi, Ethan Wentzel, Gideon Van Der Merwe (2), Litha Nkula, Jeandre Rudolph, Daniel Kasende (2), Jandre Nel (2), Neels Volschenk, Penalty Try. Conversions: John Lourens (2), Ethan Wentzel (7).
NovaVit Griffons: Gurshwin Nikhole Wehr, Penalty try. Conversions: Andrew Kota. Penalties: Andrew Kota (2).

Toyota Cheetah: 15 Litha Nkula, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Munier Hartzenberg, 12 Ali Mgijima, 11 Daniel Kasende, 10 Ethan Wentzel, 9 Rewan Kruger, 8 Jeandre Rudolph, 7 Aidon Davis, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Victor Sekekete (c), 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 1 Schalk Ferreira. Replacement: 16 Vernon Paulo, 17 Cameron Dawson, 18 Robert Hunt, 19 Pierre Uys, 20 Neels Volschenk, 21 Jandré Nel,22 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 23 George Lourens.

NovaVit Griffons: 15 Qamani Kota, 14 Gilroy Philander, 13 Keanu Vers, 12 Jandre de Beer, 11 Gurshwin Wehr, 10 Duan Pretorius, 9 Keegan Schaefer, 8 Orateng Koikanyang, 7 Wikus Nieuwenhuis, 6 Thato Mavundla, 5 Curtly Thomas, 4 Rian Olivier, 3 Moango Ngundue, 2 Chadley Wenn, 1 Xolani Jacobs. Replacements: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Mthokozisi Gumede, 18 Buhle Nojekwa, 19 Joshua Paris, 20 Jared Kruger, 21 Siphamandla Mingo Piti, 22 Cheslin Arendse, 23 Robbie Petzer.