Carling Currie Cup Premier Division – Fidelity ADT Lions Name Exciting Team For Trip To Durban


Hooker Jaco Visagie will be tasked with leading the Fidelity ADT Lions this Friday for his side’s first Currie Cup match of the season against the Hollywoodbets Sharks XV in Durban. Kick-off is at 17:15 (SA Time).

Head Coach Mziwakhe Nkosi has opted for a balanced outfit which features the necessary experience, with a glimpse of the future in the likes of prop forward RF Schoeman (starting) with Junior Springbok SJ Kotze and exciting halfback Layton Horn possibly earning their senior debuts.

Speaking ahead of his side’s trip to eThekwini, Nkosi was upbeat ahead of this year’s campaign, especially with the progression of some the youngsters to senior rugby.

“We’re excited about the start of the campaign and very keen to get going and with hopes of going deep in the competition,” he said.

“We believe we have got a good blend of players in the team to tackle the Sharks under the leadership of Jaco. A large part of our guys have come through the ranks at the franchise, and I’m sure are keen to put their hands up in this competition and establish themselves,” he concluded.

Elsewhere, powerful loose forward Ruan Venter returns to rugby after completing his suspension handed down to him against Glasgow Warriors back in May. Jarod Cairns and Izan Esterhuizen complete the back row with the latter bringing international club competition experience.

Last season’s marquee signing Kade Woluter leads the attack alongside another junior international Nico Steyn at halfback. Seasoned campaigner Rabz Maxwane returns on the left wing, with Boldwin Hansen and Gianni Lombard rounding up the back three.

New recruit Tapiwa Mafura could get his opportunity off the bench.

Fidelity ADT Lions:
1. Morgan Naude
2. Jaco Visagie (c)
3. RF Schoeman
4. Raynard Roets
5. Ruben Schoeman
6. Jarod Cairns
7. Ruan Venter
8. Izan Esterhuizen
9. Nico Steyn
10. Kade Wolhuter
11. Rabz Maxwane
12. Zander du Plessis
13. Manuel Rass
14. Boldwin Hansen
15. Gianni Lombard

16. Morne Brandon
17. SJ Kotze
18. Heiko Pohlmann
19. Ruhan Straeuli
20. Renzo du Plessis
21. Layton Horn
22. Rynhardt Jonker
23. Tapiwa Mafura