Carling Currie Cup Premier Division – Fidelity ADT Lions Hung On For One Point Win Over Hollywoodbets Sharks XV


The Fidelity ADT Lions travelled to Durban as the favourites, however, they had to hang on and pray at the end to secure a 26-25 win against the Hollywoodbets Sharks XV.

In an exciting match where both sides played brilliant rugby, especially at this early stages of the 2024 Carling Currie Cup Premier Division.

From the word go, the lead changed hands several times, with the hosts leading 10-08 at the halftime break. The Lions led 26-00, and with the time almost up on the clock, the host launched a final desperate attack. A great try by eightman Nic Hatton cut the Lions' lead to just one point, and the conversion was still to come. Lionel Cronje missed an easy conversions and despite a last-chance from the following kick-off, the Lions managed to secure a penalty, which meant an end to the game.

The difference between the teams was ultimately the success or lack thereof with the boot.

Hollywoodbets Sharks XV: Tries: Jaco Williams, Coetzee Le Roux, Diego Appollis, Nick Hatton. Conversion: Lionel Cronje. Penalty: Lionel Cronje.
Fidelity ADT Lions: Tries: Kade Wolhuter, Jarod Cairns, Morne Brandon. Conversions: Kade Wolhuter. Penalties: Kade Wolhuter.


Hollywoodbets Sharks XV: 15 Hakeem Kunene, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Diego Appollis, 12 Murray Koster, 11 Jaco Williams, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Bradley Davids, 8 Nick Hatton (c), 7 Jannes Potgieter, 6 Tino Mavesere, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Coetzee Le Roux, 3 Khwezi Mona, 2 Daniel Jooste, 1 Abraham Reyneke. Replacements: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Phatu Ganyane, 18 Mawande Mdanda, 19 Reinier Viljoen, 20 Siya Ningiza, 21 Tiaan Fourie, 22 Alwayno Visagie, 23 Muller du Plessis.

Fidelity ADT Lions: 15 Gianni Lombard, 14 Boldwin Hansen, 13 Manuel Rass, 12 Zander du Plessis, 11 Rabz Maxwane, 10 Kade Wolhuter, 9 Nico Steyn, 8 Izan Esterhuizen, 7 Ruan Venter, 6 Jarod Cairns, 5 Ruben Schoeman, 4 Raynard Roets, 3 RF Schoeman, 2 Jaco Visagie (c), 1 Morgan Naudé. Replacements: 16 Morné Brandon, 17 SJ Kotze, 18 Heiko Pohlmann, 19 Ruhan Straeuli, 20 Renzo du Plessis, 21 Layton Horn, 22 Rynhardt Jonker, 23 Tapiwa Mafura.