Carling Currie Cup Premier Division – Airlink Pumas Beat Suzuki Griquas In Season Opener


The Suzuki Griquas hosted the Airlink Pumas in Kimberley on Friday for the first match of the 2024 Carling Premier Division and as a reward for a dominant performance up front, the Pumas earned five points with a 44-24 win.

The Pumas taking revenge for their 24-46 loss to the Griquas in the SA Cup final in May 2024.

The Pumas made a good start when hooker Eduan Swart scored their first try of the season off the back of a five-meter lineout-maul to hand a seven-point lead to the visitors. Four minutes later Cameron Hufke scored the equaliser.

The action was all out and the Pumas used the space out wide to send Stefan Coetzee over for the Pumas for the score and to extend their lead to 14-07, which the Pumas lead reduced to just two points minutes later. The early part of the first half was a ding-dong battle with the teams starting to attack from everywhere and anywhere.

The Pumas led 25-12 at the halftime break and they added another nineteen points to the score to win 44-24, scoring six tries to the four scored by Griquas.

Suzuki Griquas: Tries: Cameron Hufke, Mnombo Zwelendaba (2), Bobby Alexander. Conversions: Lubabalo Dobela, George Whitehead.
Airlink Pumas: Tries: Etienne Janeke, Eddie Swart, Ruwald Van Der Merwe, Ross Braude, De-an Ackermann, Stefan Coetzee. Conversions: Clinton Swart (4). Penalties: Clinton Swart (2).


Griquas: 15 Cameron Hufke, 14 Marcqiewn Titus, 13 Sango Xamlashe, 12 Mnombo Zwelendaba, 11 Sako Makata, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Thomas Bursey, 8 Hanru Sirgel, 7 Marco de Witt, 6 Stephan Smit (captain), 5 Albert Liebenberg, 4 Dylan Sjoblom, 3 Janu Botha, 2 Janco Uys, 1 Leon Lyons. Replacements: 16 Gustav du Rand, 17 Eddie Davids, 18 Cebo Dlamini, 19 Athenkosi Khetani, 20 Carl Els, 21 Bobby Alexander, 23 Lubabalo Dobela, 23 Tertius Kruger.

Pumas: 15 Stefan Coetzee, 14 Lundi Msenge, 13 De-an Ackermann, 12 Wian van Niekerk, 11 Phiko Sobahle, 10 Clinton Swart, 9 Ross Braude, 8 Kwanda Dimaza, 7 Ruwald van der Merwe, 6 Ntsika Fisanti, 5 Shane Kirkwood, 4 Malembe Mpofu, 3 Sampie Swiegers, 2 Eduan Swart, 1 Etienne Janeke. Replacements: 16 Darnell Osuagwu, 17 Stephan de Jager, 18 Dewald Maritz, 19 Deon Slabbert, 20 Marvelous Mashimbyi, 21 Richman Gora, 22 Danrich Visagie, 23 Tino Swanepoel.