Brumbies Hang On To Beat The Rebels


The Brumbies were victorious with 31-23 against the Rebels in the second game of the 2021 Super Rugby AU series. The Brumbies outscored the Rebels with 5 tries to 2 but their ill-discipline kept the Rebels in contact on the scoreboard.

The first 20 minutes did not provide much excitement with an early converted try by the Brumbies plus a penalty goal by the Rebels more or less the excitement.

The second quarter of the game saw the Brumbies score two more tries to stretch their lead to 19-6 at the halftime break. The game ruined by the "lazy" penalties and the lack of energy in the game from both teams. The rustiness of both teams is visible.

The third quarter saw the Brumbies completely dominating proceedings helped by the mistakes of the Rebels. The Rebels rounded ten minutes of camping in the Brumbies 25, off with a forwards try to narrow the Brumbies lead to 24-13 with 20 minutes to go.

A shift in the momentum of the game resulted in another try being scored within 5 minutes from the first by the Rebels. This reduced the lead of the Brumbies to 24-20 with 17 minutes to go. The last ten minutes of the game saw the Brumbies take control which ended in the match-winning try by Will Miller to extend their lead to 31-23 with two minutes to go.

The Rebels will face the Reds while the Brumbies will have a bye next weekend.

Brumbies: Tries: Andy Muirhead, Joe Powell, Folau Fainga'a, Tom Wright, Will Miller. Conversions: Noah Lolesio (3).
Rebels: Try: Jordan Uelese, Dane Haylett-Petty. Conversion: Matt To'omua (2). Penalties: Matt To'omua (3).

Rebels: 15. Dane Haylett-Petty (C), 14. Andrew Kellaway, 13. Reece Hodge, 12. Billy Meakes, 11. Marika Koroibete, 10. Matt To'omua (VC), 9. Ryan Louwrens, 8. Michael Wells (VC), 7. Richard Hardwick, 6. Josh Kemeny, 5. Michael Stolberg, 4. Matt Philip, 3. Pone Fa’amausili, 2. Jordan Uelese, 1. Matt Gibbon. Replacements: 16. Efitusi Maafu, 17. Cameron Orr, 18. Jermaine Ainsley, 19. Trevor Hosea, 20. Esei Haangana, 21. Rob Leota, 22. Frank Lomani, 23. Andrew Deegan.

Brumbies: 15. Mack Hansen, 14. Andy Muirhead, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Irae Simone, 11. Tom Wright, 10. Noah Lolesio, 9. Joe Powell, 8. Pete Samu, 7. Tom Cusack, 6. Rob Valetini, 5. Murray Douglas, 4. Darcy Swain, 3. Allan Alaalatoa (c), 2. Folau Fainga'a, 1. James Slipper. Replacements: 16. Connal McInerney, 17. Scott Sio, 18. Tom Ross, 19. Lachlan McCaffrey, 20. Will Miller, 21. Issak Fines, 22. Bayley Kuenzle, 23. Len Ikitau.