Brumbies Extend Unbeaten Record Against Western Force


The Brumbies extended their winning record against the Western Force to eight Super Rugby games in succession. Their last defeat to the Western Australian outfit came in Round 20, 2013. The Brumbies are still unbeaten in the 2020 Super Rugby AU competition and moved to the top of the log after this 24-0 win.

It took the Brumbies just two minutes to score their first try and another three minutes to score their second. The Western Force slowly clawed their way back into the game with the help of the ill-discipline of the Brumbies. The end of the first quarter there is nothing much to choose between the two sides with the Western Force who enjoyed territorial advantage for the last ten minutes.

Nothing much changed during the second quarter with the wet conditions that made it difficult for both sides. The Brumbies lead 12-0 at the end of the first half.

The second half started the same way the first did when the Brumbies added a seven pointer to their score within two minutes after the start to stretch their lead to 19-0. The rest of the third quarter both teams tried to outmuscle their opponents.

The Brumbies stepped up the pressure on the Western Force in the last quarter and scored their fourth try to extend their lead to 24-0 with fifteen minutes to go. The Brumbies won this game by playing basic correct rugby in wet conditions. A game that will not be remembered for long.

Scorers: Brumbies: Tries: Irae Simone, Tom Wright, Will Miller, Connal McInerney. Conversions: Bayley Kuenzle (2)

Brumbies: 1. Scott Sio, 2. Folau Fainga'a, 3. Allan Alaalatoa (c), 4. Murray Douglas, 5. Nick Frost, 6. Rob Valetini, 7. Will Miller, 8. Pete Samu, 9. Joe Powell, 10. Bayley Kuenzle, 11. Tom Wright, 12. Irae Simone, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Solomone Kata, 15. Tom Banks. Replacements: 16. Connal McInerney, 17. Harry Lloyd, 18. James Slipper, 19. Ben Hyne, 20. Lachlan McCaffrey, 21. Issak Fines, 22. Mack Hansen, 23. Andy Muirhead.

Western Force: 1. Angus Wagner, 2. Feleti Kaitu’u, 3. Kieran Longbottom, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 5. Fergus titionLee Warner, 6. Henry Stowers, 7. Tevin Ferris, 8. Brynard Stander, 9. Nick Frisby, 10. Jono Lance, 11. Brad Lacey, 12. Henry Taefu, 13. Marcel Brache, 14. Byron Ralston, 15. Jack McGregor. Replacements: 16. Andrew Ready, 17. Chris Heiberg, 18. Tom Sheminant, 19. Ollie Atkins, 20. Ollie Callan, 21. Jacob Abel, 22. Richard Kahui, 23. Kyle Godwin.