Blitzboks Storm Into Quarter-final With Brilliant Win Against France


The Blitzboks scored an impressive 26-07 win over France securing a quarter-final match against Britain tonight at 21h03.

Three minutes of end-to-end action led to Muller du Plessis cutting the defence of Frace in two to score the first try of the match. France's answer was immediate when Stephen Parez Edo Martin scored the equaliser with two minutes still to go. With the time up on the clock, the TMO did not award a "try" to the Blitzboks, leaving the two teams tied at 07-07.

Dalvin Blood scored almost from the kickoff, whereafter France started to dominate. However Shilton van Wyk added to brilliant individual tries to steer the Blitzboks to the quarter-final against Great Britain at 21h03 tonight.

Blitzboks: Tries: Muller du Plessis, Dalvon Blood, Shilton van Wyk. Conversions: Ricardo James Duarttee (2), Branco du Preez.
France: Try: Stephen Parez Edo Martin Conversion: Rayan Rebbadj.


Blitzboks: Ryan Oosthuizen, Impi Visser, JC Pretorius, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Muller du Plessis, Ricardo James Duarttee. Replacements: Branco du Preez, Zain Davids, James Murphy, Darren Adonis, Dalvon Blood.

France: Jonathan Laugel, Rayan Rebbadj, Rayan Rebbadj, Stephen Parez Edo Martin, Paulin Riva, Aaron Grandidier, Marius Domon. Replacements: Nisié Huyard, William Iraguha, Leraitre Paul, Thomas Carol, Pierre Lucas.