Blitzboks Score Yet Another Comeback Win Against New Zealand To Storm Into Final


The Blitzboks came back in the second half of the semi-final against New Zealand to score the winning try with time already up on the clock. The Blitzboks won 26-19.

The Blitzboks will play Ireland tonight at 17:26 in the HSBC Dubai Sevens final.

New Zealand scored the first try of the semifinal with their direct and physical running which proved to worry the defence of the Blitzboks. Several missed tackles by the Blitzboks allowed New Zealand to score their second try to lead 12-00 at the halftime break.

Muller du Plessis collects a loose ball and ran 50+ metres to score the Blitzboks' first try. Ricardo James Duarttee scored the Blitzboks moments later forcing his way through a gap.

New Zealand struck back immediately from the kickoff to score a long-distance try. A yellow card to New Zealand with 90 seconds gave Franco du Preez the gap to score an easy try.

With the tries locked at 19-19 the Blitzboks attacked from the kick-off and with New Zealand still one player short the gap opened to allow Shilton van Wyk to score the winning try.

Blitzboks: Tries: Muller du Plessis, Ricardo James Duarttee, Branco du Preez, Shilton van Wyk. Conversions: Ricardo James Duarttee (2), Branco du Preez.
New Zealand: Tries: Caleb Tangitau (2), Akuila Rokolisoa. Conversions: Akuila Rokolisoa (2).

Blitzboks: Ryan Oosthuizen, Impi Visser, JC Pretorius, Branco du Preez, Dewald Human, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Shilton van Wyk. Replacements: Zain Davids, James Murphy, Muller du Plessis, Dalvon Blood, Ricardo James Duarttee.

New Zealand: Sam Dickson, Tone Ng Shiu, Che Clarke, Joe Webber, Akuila Rokolisoa, Leroy Carter, Caleb Tangitau. Replacements: Kurt Baker, Lewis Ormond, Regan Ware, Amanaki Nicole, Brady Rush.