Blitzboks Beat Kenia In Crucial Second Match At HSBC Dubai Sevens


The Blitzboks kept their hopes alive to qualify for the Cup playoffs after a brilliant display of Sevens' rugby beating Kenya 27-12.

South Africa's first try of the match was scored by JC Pretorius following a clinical and hard running start. Ryan Oosthuizen scored from the restart with Pretorius setting up Impi Visser's try to give the Blitzboks a 17-00 lead at the halftime break.

Dewald Human scored the Blitzboks' 4th try from the kickoff in the second half. Kenia is on the board after 3 minutes of play in the second half as the Blitzboks once again show some weakness against straight and physical running. Ricardo Duarttee scored the Blitzboks' 5th try to keep the Blitzboks' hopes alive to qualify for the Cup playoffs. Kenya's Denis Abukuse score a late try for Kenya to make the final score 27-12.

Blitzboks: Tries: JC Pretorius, Ryan Oosthuizen, Impi Visser, Dewald Human, Ricardo Duarttee. Conversion: Dewald Human.
Kenya: Tries: Anthony Omondi, Denis Abukuse. Conversion: Daniel Taabu.

Blitzboks: Ryan Oosthuizen, Impi Visser, JC Pretorius, Branco du Preez, Dewald Human, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Shilton van Wyk. Replacements: Zain Davids, James Murphy, Muller du Plessis, Dalvon Blood, Ricardo James Duarttee.

Kenya: Willy Ambaka, Herman Humwa, Kevin Wekesa, Billy Odhiambo, Nelson Oyoo, Anthony Omondi,
Ronaldo Omondi. Replacements: Daniel Taabu, Johnstone Olindi, Edmund Anya, George Ooro Angeyo, Denis Abukuse.