Blitzboks Advance In Style To Semi-final Of HSBC Cape Town Sevens


The Blitzboks secured their semi-final spot in the HSBC Cape Town tournament against Samoa on Sunday at 15:46 after a great win 21-14 against Great Britain in the last match of the day.

After absorbing the initial pressure from the Blitzboks, Great Britain started to attack with purpose, however great footwork by Ryan Oosthuizen gave him a clear run to Great Britains' tryline after five minutes of play. Great Britain replied immediately with a try of their own to level the score 07-07 which was also the halftime score.

The Blitzboks' Ricardo James Duarttee scored the Blitzboks second try after only a minute of play in the second half, however, Great Britain replied almost immediately with a try of their own to level the score at the halftime break.

The Blitzbok applied a lot of pressure during the last two minutes of play, and Dalvon Blood scored out wide securing the Blitzboks a well-deserved 21-14 win.

Blitzboks: Tries: Ryan Oosthuizen, Ricardo James Duarttee, Dalvon Blood. Conversions: Ricardo James Duarttee (3).
Great Britain: Tries: Morgan Williams, Femi Sofolarin. Conversions: Tom Emery (2).


Blitzboks: Ryan Oosthuizen, Impi Visser, JC Pretorius, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Muller du Plessis, Ricardo James Duarttee. Replacements: Branco du Preez, Zain Davids, James Murphy, Darren Adonis, Dalvon Blood.

Great Britain: Ross McCann, Jamie Barden, Api Bavadra, Max McFarland, Robbie Fergusson, Morgan Williams, Freddie Roddick. Replacements: Tom Emery, Paddy Kelly, Kaleem Barreto, Femi Sofolarin, Toby Baldwin.