Blitzbokke Change Three for Los Angeles

Photo by Hansie Linde/

Blitzbok coach Neil Powell made three changes to the side that lost in the final of the HSBC Sydney Sevens earlier this month, Ryan Oosthuizen, Kurt-Lee Arendse and Mfundo Ndhlovu will return to action in the green and gold with Justin Geduld, Chris Dry and Zain Davids being rested after featuring in all four tournaments of the series in Dubai, Cape Town, Hamilton and Sydney so far.

Ndhlovu will travel with as the official reserve, with Sako Makata elevated into the starting team to take over from Davids. Stedman Gans will again captain the side in the absence of Siviwe Soyizwapi, who just missed the return to play deadline for this trip.

“Justin, Chris and Zain played a lot of rugby so far and were always going to get a rest this trip,” said Powell. “Ryan is very keen to get back into the action, Kurt-Lee has recovered from the knock that kept him out of the previous trip and Sako deserves his chance after travelling as the extra player to New Zealand and Australia.

“Mfundo is also back to full fitness and with Angelo Davids also able to play in the forwards, we called on his skills out wide for this trip. We want to give all players a fair opportunity to stake a claim for the Olympic Games.”

The Springbok Sevens squad :

1. Angelo Davids, 2. Ryan Oosthuizen, 3. Impi Visser, 4. Sako Makata, 5. Werner Kok, 6. JC Pretorius, 7. Branco du Preez, 8. Selvyn Davids, 9. Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10. Cecil Afrika, 11. Muller du Plessis, 12. Stedman Gans, 13. Mfundo Ndhlovu  – official reserve