Blair Kinghorn Debut Brace Helps Stade Toulousain To Big Win Over Cardiff


Blair Kinghorn's debut brace helps Stade Toulousain to a big 52-07 win over Cardiff in round 1 of the 2023/24 Investec Champions Cup.

Wings Matthis Lebel, second-row Richie Arnold and full-back Kinghorn all crossed the line in the opening 25 minutes, with flanker Anthony Jelonch grabbing a fourth Stade Toulousain first-half try.

Ramos added all the extras - plus a penalty - to send them in 31-7 up at the break following a half in which Cardiff Rugby saw centre Uilisi Halaholo handed a yellow card on 37 minutes.

Wing Arthur Retiere then got the scoring started in the second half with a display of determination and power, with Ramos proving just as consistent with his kicking.

Replacement Alban Placines scored the penultimate try of the afternoon, with another replacement in Baptiste Germain converting before Kinghorn finished things off in the closing seconds with the afternoon's final play - again converted by Germain.

Stade Toulousain used the width well throughout, with Lebel crossing in the corner for the opener, and almost repeating the feat five minutes later but opting instead to set Arnold free on the inside.

Cardiff Rugby endeavoured to stay in touch, but could only notch what turned out to be just the one consolation score, with a try from Mackenzie Martin, powering over the line, converted by Tinus de Beer.

It was the perfect start for Stade Toulousain, who are looking for a record-extending sixth title in the Investec Champions Cup this season. They will face Harlequins away next weekend, with Cardiff Rugby hosting Bath Rugby.

Stade Toulousain: Tries: Matthis Lebel, Richie Arnold, Blair Kinghorn (2), Anthony Jelonch, Arthur Retiere, Alban Placines. Conversions: Thomas Ramos (5), Baptiste Germain (2). Penalty: Thomas Ramos.
Cardiff Rugby: Try: Mackenzie Martin. Conversion: Tinus de Beer.


Stade Toulousain: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Matthis Lebel, 13 Pierre-Louis Barassi, 12 Pita Ahki, 11 Arthur Retiere, 10 Thomas Ramos, 9 Antoine Dupont, 8 Alexandre Roumat, 7 Anthony Jelonch, 6 Thibaud Flament, 5 Emmanuel Meafou, 4 Richie Arnold, 3 Dorian Aldegheri, 2 Peato Mauvaka, 1 Cyril Baille. Replacements: 16 Guillaume Cramont, 17 Rodrigue Neti, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Piula Faasalele, 20 Alban Placines, 21 Paul Costes, 22 Baptiste Germain, 23 Santiago Chocobares.

Cardiff Rugby: 15 Jacob Beetham, 14 Josh Adams, 13 Willis Halaholo, 12 Ben Thomas, 11 Mason Grady, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Tomos Williams 8 Mackenzie Martin, 7 Lucas de la Rua, 6 Shane Lewis-Hughes, 5 Teddy Williams, 4 Rory Thornton, 3 Keiron Assiratti, 2 Efan Daniel, 1 Rhys Carré. Replacements: 16 Evan Lloyd, 17 Corey Domachowski, 18 Rhys Litterick, 19 Josh Turnbull, 20 Alun Lawrence, 21 Ellis Bevan, 22 Harri Millard, 23 Owen Lane.