A Historic Draw In Sydney

Eighty minutes and a historic 10-minute Super Time period couldn't separate the Reds and Rebels in an 18-all draw on Friday night.

The Reds had the better of the attack early in wet conditions and To’omua slotted the first points from a penalty in the seventh minute, taking the chance that an ill-disciplined Reds were giving him. A scrappy first 20 minutes partially due to light rain but mainly due to a serious shortage of commitment by both teams. The Rebels lead 3-0 after the first quarter. The second quarter was more of the same, with another penalty by the Rebels to stretch their lead to 6-0 at half time.

The Reds began the second half a man down after Hamish Stewart was yellow-carded. The sides traded tries early in the second half as wet conditions began to dry up. The Rebels had a seven-point lead in the final 15 minutes and looked like taking the win but a James O'Connor penalty and an Alex Mafi converted try brought the scores level at the 80th minute and sent the sides into rugby's first Super Time.

Scrums dominated the extra-time periods, eating up the clock to the frustration of many fans, and no scores were able to be conjured. A Historical 18-18 draw.

The Reds were dominant at scrum time and looked exciting in attack but errors with the ball in hand left them ruing opportunities throughout the game.

Both sides battled at lineout time, with a cumulative 11 lineouts lost through the night 

Despite the conditions, both sides looked to move the ball rather than go for easy penalty points, something that was highlighted most notably when the Rebels turned down a point and To’omua subsequently went for a drop goal in open play.

The Reds face Western Force while the Rebels have a bye next weekend.


Rebels: Tries: Reece Hodge, Billy Meakes. Conversion: Matt To’omua. Penalties: Matt To’omua (2)

Reds: Tries: Filipo Daugunu, Alex Mafi. Conversion: James O'Connor. Penalties: James O'Connor.

Reds: 1. Harry Hoopert, 2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 3. Taniela Tupou, 4. Angus Blyth, 5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 6. Liam Wright, 7. Fraser McReight, 8. Harry Wilson, 9. Tate McDermott, 10. James O'Connor, 11. Filipo Daugunu, 12. Hamish Stewart, 13. Hunter Paisami, 14. Jock Campbell, 15. Bryce Hegarty. Replacements: 16. Alex Mafi, 17. JP Smith, 18. Josh Nasser, 19. Tuaina Taii Tualima, 20. Angus Scott-Young, 21. Scott Malolua, 22. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 23. Josh Flook.

Rebels: 1. Matt Gibbon, 2. Jordan Uelese, 3. Pone Fa’amausili, 4. Matt Philip, 5. Michael Stolberg, 6. Josh Kemeny, 7. Richard Hardwick, 8. Michael Wells (VC), 9. Ryan Louwrens, 10. Matt To’omua (VC), 11. Marika Koroibete, 12. Billy Meakes, 13. Campbell Magnay, 14. Andrew Kellaway, 15. Dane Haylett-Petty. Replacements: 16. Efi Ma'afu, 17. Cameron Orr, 18. Jermaine Ainsley, 19. Trevor Hosea, 20. Esei Ha'angana, 21. Rob Leota, 22. Frank Lomani, 23. Reece Hodge.