An Exciting u/20 Top Of The Log Clash In Johannesburg Today


In a replay of the 2021 SARU u/20 Cup the Lions u/20s will host DHL Western Province u/20s this afternoon @ 13h00 in Johannesburg in a top of the log battle of the SARU u/20 Cup.

The Lions' u/20s are currently top of the log with 10 log points. They earned the maximum log points against Eastern Province u/20s and the Leopards u/20s in the first two rounds of the competition. Western Province u/20s only have eight log points after two narrow wins over Cell C Sharks u/20s and Vodacom Bulls u/20s.

These two teams have also played in the 2021 SARU u/20 Cup which the Lions won 36-35.

The Lions will have to step up upfront and dominate or the Western Province will use the quality ball from their forwards to run the host's defence to tatters. 

Lions u/20 head coach Mwzakhe Nkosi made two changes to the starting line-up. Both changes were made at the back with Lungelo Sithole replacing Josh Herold on the wing. Herold drops to the bench while Layton Horn is promoted from the bench at scrumhalf to replace Nico Steyn in the other change.

Centre Ethan James will captain DHL Western Province u/20. James is joined by wings Paschal Ekeji and Masande Mtshali as the only changes to the backline that did duty in the win against Vodacom Bulls U20 last week.

In the forward pack, Francois Breytenbach gets an opportunity at hooker, while Hendrik Sieberhagen shifts to lock with Ethan Snyman and Jan Gouws coming into the loose trio.

DHL Western Province U20 Head Coach Labeeb Levy said that his team know they will have to raise their standards even further if they are to continue their winning start to the campaign.

“A lunchtime kick-off at Emirates Airline Park means this will be a big challenge, but it is one that the players are embracing.

“We are looking forward to seeing what some of the players coming in can offer as we look for another big away win,” he said.

Lions u20: Sam Francis 14. Lungelo Sithole 13. Josh Jonas 12. Bronson Mills 11. Keagan Smith 10. Sihlalo Benge 9. Layton Horn 8. Sisonke Vumazonke 7. Tiaan Wessels 6. Joshua van Vreden 5. Henk Gouws 4. Justin Kalamer 3. John-Kelly Okonkwo 2. Ricardo Fourie 1. Heiko Pohlmann. Replacements: Sikholise Nanto 17. SJ Kotze 18. S de Bruyn 19. Tyler van Wijk 20. Nathan Lainis 21. B Bosch 22.Josh Herold 23. K Mpeku 24. Dan Botha 25. A Weideman 26. Ndinovuyo Holiday.

DHL Western Province u/20: 15. Luke Burger, 14. Masande Mtshali, 13. Ethan James, 12. Hofmeyr Retief, 11. Paschal Ekeji, 10. Sacha Mngomezulu, 9. FC Fourie, 8. Ethan Snyman, 7. Jan Gouws, 6. Paul de Villiers, 5. Hendrik Sieberhagen, 4. Daniel Louw, 3. Corne Weilbach, 2. Francois Breytenbach, 1. Lamla Nunu. Replacements: 16. Nande Moses, 17. Yannick Marais, 18. Liam Sproston, 19. Jan-Daniel Cilliers, 20. Carlos da Costa, 21. Jacques Theron, 22. Jonathan Roche, 23. Melbirt van der Spuy.