All Or Nothing For DHL Western Province In Durban Today


It’s make-or-break in the final round of the Carling Currie Cup on Saturday, with three teams effectively involved in knock-out matches to determine who will join the Vodacom Bulls and Cell C Sharks in the semi-finals. DHL Western Province travel to Durban in an effort to secure a playoff berth @ 19h00 today.

Victory for the DHL Western Province should be enough to secure them a spot in the playoffs, but if they fail to knock over the hosts, DHL Western Province will miss out on finishing in the top four of the Carling Currie Cup for only the second time since 2008 (the other time was in 2019).

When these two coastal giants met in round three in Cape Town, DHL WP won by 32-31, with Tim Swiel scoring 22 points with the boot as the Cell C Sharks outscored the home side by four tries to two.

Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt has made a number of changes to last week’s side, bringing in a new front row of Ntuthuko Mchunu, Kerron van Vuuren and Khutha Mchunu for Khwezi Mona, Dan Jooste and Lourens Adriaanse respectively, while Le Roux Roets joins Gerbrandt Grobler in the second row in place of Emile van Heerden and James Venter replaces Dylan Richardson in the final change to the pack.

Amongst the backs, Grant Williams, having been called up to the Springbok squad, has been replaced by Sanele Nohamba while there is a new centre partnership with Murray Koster Werner and Kok taking over from Marius Louw and Jeremy Ward. The final change sees Curwin Bosch in for Anthony Volmink at fullback.

There are five changes to the DHL Western Province forward pack. Up front there are two new props in Leon Lyons and Neethling Fouche starting on either side of hooker Andre-Hugo Venter. Johan du Toit shifts from the loose trio into the second row, with flanks Deon Fourie and Marcel Theunissen coming into the starting line-up on the side of the scrum.

In the backline Juan de Jongh comes back in at outside centre and Ruhan Nel moves out to the right wing, with Sergeal Petersen at fullback in place of Warrick Gelant who has a minor injury niggle.

DHL Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that his team is ready to put everything they have into what is a must-win game.

“This has been a Carling Currie Cup campaign unlike any other and we know exactly what we need to do in order to be playing in a semifinal next week.

“Having had a whole week to prepare, we have worked hard on certain areas of our game and the players will definitely be highly motivated to do the jersey proud and get the result we need in Durban,” he said.

Cell C Sharks: 15. Curwin Bosch, 14. Yaw Penxe, 13. Werner Kok, 12. Murray Koster, 11. Thaakir Abrahams, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Sanele Nohamba, 8. Phepsi Buthelezi (c), 7. Henco Venter, 6. James Venter, 5. Gerbrandt Grobler, 4. Le Roux Roets, 3. Khutha Mchunu, 2. Kerron van Vuuren, 1. Ntuthuko Mchunu. Replacements: 16. Dan Jooste, 17. Khwezi Mona, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Reniel Hugo, 20. Thembelani Bholi, 21. Cameron Wright 22. Marius Louw, 23. Anthony Volmink.

DHL Western Province: 15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Ruhan Nel, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Marcel Theunissen, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 Johan du Toit, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Andre-Hugo Venter, 1 Leon Lyons. Replacements (from): 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Dian Bleuler, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Simon Miller, 20 Nama Xaba, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Rikus Pretorius, 23 Tristan Leyds, 24 Justin Basson, 25 De Wet Marais.