Waratahs Name Squad For Must-Win Clash Against Rebels


The NSW Waratahs will play out their final home fixture of Vodafone Super Rugby AU this weekend, as they take on the Melbourne Rebels at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday 11:15 am SA time.

Rob Penney has named his final matchday 23 for the regular season, as his side press their claims for a Finals berth in a must-win clash.

It's a largely unchanged squad for Penney, who has continued with the core group of players that have featured over the majority of the competition to date.

Despite being given every opportunity to prove his fitness, Karmichael Hunt has been ruled out after being a late scratching ahead of the Waratahs trip to Canberra last weekend.

Tepai Moeroa has been named in his place, earning his first start in Super Rugby AU. After making his Waratahs debut last week in Canberra, Nick Malouf retains his spot on the bench alongside Ben Donaldson and Mitch Short.

Will Harris also returns to the reserves after an extended injury lay-off due to an ankle injury.

NSW Waratahs: 1. Tom Roberson, 2. Tom Horton, 3. Harry Johnson-Holmes, 4. Ned Hanigan, 5. Rob Simmons (c), 6. Lachlan Swinton, 7. Michael Hooper, 8. Jack Dempsey, 9. Jake Gordon, 10. Will Harrison, 11. Alex Newsome (vc), 12. Tepai Moeroa, 13. Joey Walton, 14. James Ramm, 15. Jack Maddocks. Replacements: 16. Robbie Abel, 17. Tetera Faulkner, 18. Angus Bell, 19. Tom Staniforth, 20. Will Harris, 21. Mitch Short, 22. Ben Donaldson, 23. Nick Malouf.