The Reds To Play The Brumbies In The Super Rugby AU Final


The Rebels can rightfully claim that they could have but unfortunately for them, they will have to wait for the next opportunity to play in a Super Rugby AU final. The Reds did just enough to win 25-13 and proceed to the Super Rugby AU competition's final.

The initial minutes of the game belonged to the Rebels who dominated on the field as well as statistics. The Reds, however, were the first on the scoreboard after a long-distance intercept try by Jordan Petaia, which gave the Reds a 7-0 lead. Apart from the last 5 minutes of the first quarter, the Rebels controlled most of the action. However, at the end of the first quarter in was the Reds that led by 7-3.

The Rebels got their well deserved first try with only a minute to go in the second quarter. The try levelled the score at 10-10, with the Rebels a bit "unlucky" to not lead at that stage.

It took the Reds just 3 minutes into the second half to score their second try of the match to lead 17-10. The sides traded penalties to end the third quarter with the Reds still in the lead with 20-13.

The Rebels deserved a closer result or even a win but a try with 5 minutes to go for the Reds sealed it. The Reds move on to the final against the Brumbies in a week's time.

Rebels: Try: Marika Koroibete. Conversion: Matt To’omua. Penalties: Matt To’omua, Reece Hodge.
Reds: Tries: Jordan Petaia, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Filipo Daugunu . Conversions: James O'Connor (2). Penalties: James O'Connor (2).

Rebels: 1. Cameron Orr, 2. Jordan Uelese, 3. Jermaine Ainsley, 4. Matt Philip, 5. Trevor Hosea, 6. Brad Wilkin, 7. Richard Hardwick, 8. Isi Naisarani, 9. Frank Lomani, 10. Matt To’omua, 11. Marika Koroibete, 12. Bill Meakes, 13. Reece Hodge, 14. Andrew Kellaway, 15. Dane Haylett-Petty. Replacements: 16. Efitusi Maafu, 17. Cabous Eloff, 18. Matt Gibbon, 19. Michael Stolberg, 20. Rob Leota, 21. Theo Strang, 22. Andrew Deegan, 23. Campbell Magnay.

Reds: 1. Harry Hoopert, 2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 3. Taniela Tupou, 4. Angus Blyth, 5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 6. Liam Wright, 7. Fraser McReight, 8. Harry Wilson, 9. Tate McDermott, 10. James O’Connor, 11. Filipo Daugunu, 12. Hamish Stewart, 13. Jordan Petaia, 14. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 15. Jock Campbell. Replacements: 16. Alex Mafi, 17. JP Smith, 18. Jack Straker, 19. Tuaina Taii Tualima, 20. Angus Scott-Young, 21. Moses Sorovi, 22. Bryce Hegarty, 23. Hunter Paisami.