SSL Festival – Match #1 – Affies u/16 vs Boland Landbou u/16 – 2017 Paarl Gim Festival

The first match of the 2020 School Sports Live festival will be screened "live" this afternoon at 17h00. You can follow the action on's SSL channel 

The second last match on the first day was between Affies and Boland Landbou's u/16's. Neither team had a great record going into the match with Affies who lost against Helpmekaar (27-31) and Paarl Gim (17-28) with a solitary win over Diamantveld (53-0) in their season opener in Kimberley. Boland Landbou only played one game which they lost 15-27 against Outeniqua at the Brackenfell Rugby Day a week before.

Affies was the favourite as they were "ranked" twelve positions above Boland Landbou at number 12, but we all know the fight in the boys on the "Plaas" in Western Cape. The lead in the match changed a good five times with the winner who only sealed the win in the final seconds of the game with a converted try.

Boland Landbou Squad: 15. Jason Roux, 14. Preston September, 13. Corné Grobbelaar, 12. Johan Lourens, 11. Hentie Fourie, 10. Fabricio Linnert, 9. Ricky Agulhas, 8. Eugene Snyders, 7. Jaques Mostert, 6. Corné Smith, 5. Thinus le Roux, 4. Conrad Pietersen, 3. Henko Smuts, 2. JJ Wiggans, 1. Valla Verster. Replacements: 16. CG Rheeder, 17. Hubert de Villiers, 18. Tiaan van Brakel, 19. Ivan Spies, 20. WJ Botha, 21. Ashwill Anthony, 22. Another.

Of this squad, only Fabricio Linnert and Eugene Snyders made the 2017 Grant Khomo team, while Conrad Pieterson made the Grant Khomo XV. Two years later Jaques Mostert was the only boys selected for the u/18 Craven Week squad.

Affies Squad: 15. Dieter Crafford, 14. JC le Roux, 13. Armin Jordaan, 12. FC Potgieter, 11. Franco Smit, 10. Leighton Ferreira, 9. Michael van Aswegen, 8. George Oosthuysen, 7. Brendhan Kelbrick, 6. Andre de la Port, 5. Christian Kamffer, 4. Adolph Visser, 3. Paul Prestorius, 2. Jacques-Lois du Toit, 1. Phillip Blignaut. Replacements: 16. Johann Botha, 17. Dian Siecker, 18. Luan Pienaar, 19. Eduard Joynt, 20. Daniël Visser, 21. Werner van Zyl, 22. Wikus Basson, 23. Franku Muller.

Adolf Visser, Jaques-Lois du Toit and Michael van Aswegen were selected for the 2017 Grant Khome team of the Blue Bulls. Adolf Visser and Jaques-Lois du Toit made the 2019 Craven Week squad and was joined by Christian Kamffer in the elite squad. Jaques-Lois du Toit was also selected for the SA Schools "A" team in 2019. Head coach for this team was Perry Joynt who is the current principal of Affies. Dieter Crafford, Michael van Aswegen, George Oosthuysen, Christian Kamffer, Adolph Visser and Jacques-Lois du Toit also earned the 1stXV tie for being selected more than 6 times in the starting line-up of the Witbulle.