Aussies To Host Rugby Championship


SANZAAR has announced that The Rugby Championship 2020 will be played in Australia, in November and December this year. All of SANZAAR’s four Member Unions will participate and the announcement follows a detailed assessment of tournament hosting submissions from New Zealand Rugby and Rugby Australia. The tournament was moved from its traditional August-September window due to the ongoing effects of the global COVID-19 pandemic.
The Rugby Championship (TRC) matches will be played in Australia within the recently announced World Rugby sanctioned Southern Hemisphere playing window of November 7 to December 12. The tournament will comprise a six-week, 12-match, “home and away” tournament involving Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.
SANZAAR CEO Andy Marinos stated, “We are delighted that SANZAAR can, at last, confirm the participants and host country for The Rugby Championship and put an end to the continued speculation about the tournaments’ format and location. Traditionally TRC is played as an international, cross-border series of home and away matches between Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa but due to the pandemic this is obviously not possible this year.”
“We have, therefore, worked very hard as a group to ensure TRC takes place this year, albeit in one country, and SANZAAR was meticulous in assessing the two options for hosting presented to it by New Zealand Rugby and Rugby Australia”.
“SANZAAR ultimately determined that based on government-required quarantine protocols [for entry and training prior to the tournament] and commercial underwriting, the Rugby Australia submission was the most desirable and workable in terms of tournament logistics for the essential pre-tournament preparation period and the six-week tournament itself.”